IPA Source
This is the "Scores" page of the "Voice Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Voice Guide   Tags: arias, art_song, instruments, lieder, singing, voice  

This guide describes how to locate solo and ensemble printed music, books, journals, career resources and repertoire for voice.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cim.edu/voice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Scores Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Call Numbers

Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating (stacks) and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.

  • M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
  • ML = Books about music and musicians
  • MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique

The best finding aid is the CIM/Case library catalog.

 

Findings songs/arias

Finding printed music for a specific song/aria: Many songs and arias are only found in collections. Unfortunately, the library catalog does not always index the contents of such collections. This is where a song index is helpful. It will tell you which collections include a specific aria, lieder or song.

 

What is the call number for ... ?

Your voice teacher sends you to the library to find a specific aria.  Where are the vocal scores of operas?  M1503.  Use the following table to browse our collection of vocal literature. 

Call Number Genre
M 1500 Operas - Full scores
M 1503 Operas - Vocal scores
M 1507 Operas Anthologies
M 1611-1998 Singing and vocal techniques
M 1619 Songs & lieder (printed music)
M 1620 Anthologies with piano
M 1621 Collections with piano (one composer)
M 1627-1853c National music
M 1999-2199 Sacred Vocal Music
M 2102-2114 Sacred songs for one voice
 

How do I search for music for a specific ensemble?

To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the subject search in the library catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.

The library catalog is not the best tool for locating repertoire for a specific voice type, ensemble or in a specific genre.  Much of vocal literature is found in collections.  Please refer to the Bibliographies & Repertoire Lists tab for a list of essential tools. 

"Vocal Music" is the best subject heading to use.  It may be qualified by time period or a geographic description.

  • Vocal Music -- 18th Century
  • Vocal Music - 19th Century -- Austria
  • Vocal Music -- Belgium


Sr. Research Services Librarian

Profile Image
Denise Smith Green
Contact Info
denise.green@case.edu
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
I'm usually in the Reference Desk area or Media Center
What are your musical interests/activities?
Singing and coordinating musicians. Currently I sing and help coordinate the Worship Team at my church.
What are your hobbies?
When not doing the above, I enjoy getting out and spending time with family and friends. I also especially enjoy singing and reading new children's books to my daughter, and listening to audio books.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip