Call Numbers
Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating (stacks) and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.
- M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
- ML = Books about music and musicians
- MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique
The best finding aid is the CIM/Case library catalog.
What is the call number for ... ?
Your voice teacher sends you to the library to find a specific aria. Where are the vocal scores of operas? M1503. Use the following table to browse our collection of vocal literature.
| Call Number | Genre |
| M 1500 | Full scores of operas |
| M 1503 | Vocal scores of opera (piano reductions) |
| M 1507 | Collections of opera excerpts |
| ML 48 |
Opera librettos (texts) |
| ML 410 |
Biographies of composers and musicians |
| ML 1700 |
History of Opera |
Findings songs/arias
Finding printed music for a specific song/aria: Many songs and arias are only found in collections. Unfortunately, the library catalog does not always index the contents of such collections. This is where a song index is helpful. It will tell you which collections include a specific aria, lieder or song.
- Song Index (UT George F. DeVine Music Library) Online
- Song Index (Sears). Ref. ML128.V87 Se17
- Songs in Collections (DeCharms). Ref. ML 128.V87 D356
Reference |
![]() Where do you work in the Library?: I'm in the reference alcove just a few steps away from the circulation desk. What are your musical interests/activities?: Listening! What are your hobbies?: Cooking, yoga, reading. |





Loading...
