What is an Annotated Bibliography?
Introduction
Comprehensive exams require the graduate student to be able to discuss in depth a variety of compositions. The pieces are selected from one of the students' Masters' recitals or based on other criteria. Students need to prepare analytical and historical essays for each of these pieces. A bibliography (list of articles/books about each composition) is also required. More information about these requirements and significant due dates will be distributed by the registrar's office at the onset of the semester when the exams are scheduled.
The library's reference staff are available to assist graduate students as they prepare for these exams. Please stop by the reference desk at the Robinson Music Library if you have any questions.
10 Steps to Comps!
This is a recommended strategy for preparing for comprehensive exams.
1. Select the Master's recital program that you want to prepare.
2. Identify the information you need to know for each piece on the recital program. Can you answer the questions below? Let them serve as a guide for the information you need to know.
Form/Analysis
- What is the form of composition and its movements?
- What genre is it most related to?
- How does it compare to similar compositions (in the same genre) by the composer? To other compositions written in the genre?
- Are there any unique/new tonal/structural features in this piece?
History
- How does this composition fit within the composer's oeuvre? Does it break new ground, begin a new stylistic period, and/or reflect the composer's style?
- For what purpose was it written? How does the purpose influence the composition?
- How was it received when it was premiered/first performed? Has its reception changed since? Why?
- Are there any controversies associated with this composition (historical, interpretative, etc.)?
- How does this piece related to the literature for your instrument written during the period of its composition?
3. Consult the Grove Music Online and other reference books for information about the composer and the composition. Make sure to check the bibliographies for related articles and books. Does the library have a research guide (bio-bibliography) for any of the composers on your recital (Hint: See Ref. ML134)?
4. Search the library catalog for books about the composer, genre, etc.
5. Search RILM Abstracts of Music and Music Index. Find articles, essays, and books that discuss each composition. Digital Dissertations will help you locate dissertations that discuss your piece. Some articles may be found full-text in JSTOR
6. Prepare a rough bibliography (list of the articles and books you want to consult).
7. Interlibrary loan articles and books that are not at the CIM/Kulas Music Libraries.
Recommended due date for ILL requests: Friday, March 2, 2012
8. Submit your formal bibliography on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
9. Study and review the materials
10. Comprehensive Exams - Friday, April 6, 2012
Reference |
Where do you work in the Library? I'm in the reference alcove just a few steps away from the circulation desk. What are your musical interests/activities? Listening! What are your hobbies? Cooking, yoga, reading. |





Loading content... please wait
