Keyboard and Chamber MusicStringsWoodwind and PercussionBrassVocal
This is the "New Books" page of the "New Acquisitions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Acquisitions  

The Robinson Music Library is constantly updating its collections of books, scores, and media for the use of CIM faculty and students. Select one of the tabs below to view recent additions to our collections.
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2015 URL: http://libguides.cim.edu/acquisitions Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

New Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NEW BOOKS! February - March 2017

 

Cover Art
Franz Liszt - Oliver Hilmes; Stewart Spencer
Call Number: ML410.L699 H56f
ISBN: 9780300182934
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
An engrossing new biography of the musical revolutionary who was the world's first international megastar Hungarian composer Franz Liszt (1811-1886) was an anomaly. A virtuoso pianist and electrifying showman, he toured extensively throughout the European continent, bringing sold-out audiences to states of ecstasy while courting scandal with his frequent womanizing. Drawing on new, highly revealing documentary sources, including a veritable treasure trove of previously unexamined material on Liszt's Weimar years, best-selling author Oliver Hilmes shines a spotlight on the extraordinary life and career of this singularly dazzling musical phenomenon.   Whereas previous biographies have focused primarily on the composer's musical contributions, Hilmes showcases Liszt the man in all his many shades and personal reinventions: child prodigy, Romantic eccentric, fervent Catholic, actor, lothario, celebrity, businessman, genius, and extravagant show-off. The author immerses the reader in the intrigues of the nineteenth-century European glitterati (including Liszt's powerful patrons, the monstrous Wagner clan) while exploring the true, complex face of the artist and the soul of his music. No other Liszt biography in English is as colorful, witty, and compulsively readable, or reveals as much about the true nature of this extraordinary, outrageous talent.

Cover Art
Béla Bartók - David Cooper
Call Number: ML410.Ba285 C784be
ISBN: 9780300148770
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
This deeply researched biography of Bela Bartok (1881-1945) provides a more comprehensive view of the innovative Hungarian musician than ever before. David Cooper traces Bartok's international career as an ardent ethno-musicologist and composer, teacher, and pianist, while also providing a detailed discussion of most of his works. Further, the author explores how Europe's political and cultural tumult affected Bartok's work, travel, and reluctant emigration to the safety of America in his final years. Cooper illuminates Bartok's personal life and relationships, while also expanding what is known about the influence of other musicians-Richard Strauss, Zoltan Kodaly, and Yehudi Menuhin, among many others. The author also looks closely at some of the composer's actions and behaviors which may have been manifestations of Asperger syndrome. The book, in short, is a consummate biography of an internationally admired musician.

Cover Art
Singing and Wellbeing : ancient wisdom, modern proof - Kay Norton
Call Number: ML3920.N824si
ISBN: 9781138825314
Publication Date: 2015-07-23
Singing and Wellbeing provides evidence that the benefits of a melodious voice go far beyond pleasure, and confirms the importance of singing in optimum health. A largely untapped resource in the health care professions, the singing voice offers rewards that are closer than ever to being fully quantified by advances in neuroscience and psychology. For music, pre-med, bioethics, and medical humanities students, this book introduces the types of ongoing research that connect behaviour and brain function with the musical voice.

Cover Art
Benjamin Britten and Russia - Cameron Pyke
Call Number: ML410.Br778 P993be
ISBN: 9781783271139
Publication Date: 2016-08-18
This book explores Benjamin Britten's creative relationship with Russia throughout his life by examining his engagement with Russian composers, musicians and writers in the context of twentieth-century politics. The remarkable relationship between Britten and Shostakovich is a central theme, but it also evaluates other key influences, particularly Britten's passion for Tchaikovsky, his more elusive fascination with Prokofiev, and his ambiguous attitude towards Stravinsky; and it places Britten's enduring friendships with Rostropovich, Vishnevskaya and Richter in the context of his musical output. The book also analyses Britten's responses to various Russian composers and musicians - why, for example, did he dislike Musorgsky? - and considers personal and political perceptions of Britten in the Soviet Union. Finally, it assesses the wider question of Russian influence on Britten's works and in turn whether Britten's music had any influence on the younger generation of Russian composers, such as Alfred Schnittke. This study draws on Foreign Office and British Council files at the National Archives, published and unpublished material from the former Soviet Union, including the Shostakovich Family Archive, and oral history, in addition to the Britten-related archives. Benjamin Britten and Russia will appeal not only to Britten scholars and students but also to those interested in twentieth-century culture, history and politics more widely. CAMERON PYKE is Deputy Master (External) at Dulwich College and part-time lecturer at the Centre of Russian Music, Goldsmiths, University of London.

Cover Art
My Beloved Man : the letters of Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears - Vicki P. Stroeher (Editor); Nicholas Clark (Editor); Jude Brimmer (Editor)
Call Number: ML410.Br778 aaSt
ISBN: 9781783271085
Publication Date: 2016-06-16
'To read these letters is to climb up a wall and peer into the secret garden of two giants.' From the Foreword by FIONA SHAW This volume comprises the complete surviving correspondence between Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears. The 365 letters written throughout their 39-year relationship are here brought together and published, as Pears intended, for the first time. While the correspondence provides valuable evidence of the development of Britten's works, more significant is the insight into his relationship with Pears and their day-to-day life together. Entertaining to read, domestic and intimate, the letters provide glimpses of cultural and artistic life in the twentieth century, including pacifism and conscientious objection, critical assessments of music and other artists, transport and communications development in the twentieth century, the 'Aldeburgh corpses', art collecting, gossip, everyday life in an English country house, the development of the Aldeburgh Festival, performance practice in early music, looking after dachshunds, travel, and a host of other topics. Above all, when read together, Britten and Pears's letters allow the clearest possible look 'behind the scenes' of one of the most productive creative partnerships of the twentieth century. VICKI P. STROEHER is Professor of Music History at Marshall University where she is also Coordinator of the Music History & Literature area. NICHOLAS CLARK is the Librarian at the Britten-Pears Foundation at The Red House, Britten and Pears's home in Aldeburgh, Suffolk. JUDE BRIMMER is an Archivist at the Britten-Pears Foundation.

Cover Art
My Life with Wagner : fairies, rings, and redemption : exploring opera's most enigmatic composer - Christian Thielemann; Anthea Bell (Translator)
Call Number: ML410.W125 T346m 2016
ISBN: 9781681771250
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Over a distinguished career conducting some of the world's finest orchestras, Christian Thielemann has earned a reputation as the leading modern interpreter of Richard Wagner.My Life with Wagner chronicles his ardent personal and professional engagement with the great composer, whose work has shaped his thinking and feeling from early childhood. Thielemann retraces his journey around the world with Wagner--from Berlin to Bayreuth via Venice, Hamburg, and Chicago--and combines his analysis with revealing insights drawn from his many years of experience as a Wagner conductor.Thielemann discusses each of Wagner's operas in turn, and his appraisal is illuminated by a deep affinity for the music, an intimate knowledge of the scores, and the inside perspective of a world-class practitioner. And yet for all the adulation Wagner's art inspires, Thielemann does not shy away from unpalatable truths about the man himself, explaining why today Wagner is venerated and reviled in equal measure.My Life with Wagner is a richly rewarding read for admirers of a composer who continues to fascinate long after his death.

Cover Art
Grit : the power of passion and perseverance - Angela Duckworth
Call Number: BF637.S8 D858g
ISBN: 9781501111105
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
In this must-read book for anyone striving to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows parents, students, educators, athletes, and business people both seasoned and new that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls grit. Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of genius, Duckworth, now a celebrated researcher and professor, describes her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not genius but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance. In "Grit," she takes readers into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll. Among "Grit" s most valuable insights: *Why any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal *How grit can be learned, regardless of I.Q. or circumstances *How lifelong interest is triggered *How much of optimal practice is suffering and how much ecstasy *Which is better for your child a warm embrace or high standards *The magic of the Hard Thing Rule Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, "Grit" is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that not talent or luck makes all the difference."

Cover Art
Musicology: the Key Concepts (2nd edition) - David Beard; Kenneth Gloag
Call Number: ML3797.Be38mu 2016
ISBN: 9780415679671
Publication Date: 2016-01-29
Now in an updated 2nd edition, Musicology: The Key Conceptsis a handy A-Z reference guide to the terms and concepts associated with contemporary musicology. Drawing on critical theory with a focus on new musicology, this updated edition contains over 35 new entries including: Autobiography; Music and Conflict; Deconstruction; Postcolonialism; Disability; Music after 9/11; Masculinity; Gay Musicology; Aesthetics; Ethnicity; Interpretation; Subjectivity. With all entries updated, and suggestions for further reading throughout, this text is an essential resource for all students of music, musicology, and wider performance related humanities disciplines.

Performing practices in Johannes Brahms' chamber music - Clive Brown, Neal Peres da Costa, Kate Bennett Wadsworth
Call Number: ML410.Br73 Br812p
ISBN: 9790006560004
Publication Date: 2015
CONTENTS: General issues of performing practice ; String performing practice / Clive Brown -- Performing practice in piano playing / Neal Peres Da Costa -- Brahms and the cello / Kate Bennett Wadsworth -- Epilogue / Clive Brown = Allegemeine Aspekte der Aufführungspraxis ; Streicher-Aufführungspraxis / Clive Brown -- Pianistische Auffürungspraktiken / Neal Peres Da Costa -- Brahms und das Cello / Kate Bennet Wadsworth -- Nachwort / Clive Brown

Cover Art
The Creation of der Rosenkavalier : from chevalier to cavalier - Michael Reynolds
Call Number: ML410.St82 R335cr
ISBN: 9781783270491
Publication Date: 2016-06-17
A full account of the making, during 1909-10, of Der Rosenkavalier with emphasis on its derivation from a French operette of 1907, L'Ingenu libertin, which was seen in Paris by Count Harry Kessler and which formed the basis of the opera then to be written by Hofmannsthal and Strauss. Previous scholarship has credited the narrative and characters of Der Rosenkavalier to much older French sources known to and studied by Hofmannsthal, but this book shows clearly how every element in L'Ingenu libertin is in fact taken (and transformed) by Kessler and Hofmannsthal into the work that made fortunes for Hofmannsthal and Strauss, but left Kessler on the sidelines. Michael Reynolds casts a major new light on Strauss's most popular operatic success, highlighting in particular how it was that Hofmannsthal - who had not until then had any theatrical success as an original playwright - was advised and empowered by Kessler to produce a work that succeeded onstage from its very first performance and went rapidly on to conquer the stages of the world.

Cover Art
Experiencing the Violin Concerto : a listener's companion - Franco Sciannameo
Call Number: ML422.Sz25 An43t
ISBN: 9780810888852
Publication Date: 2016-08-04
Since the eighteenth century, violin concertos have provided a showcase for dramatic interplay between a soloist s virtuosity and the blended sonority of an orchestra s many instruments. Using this genre to showcase skill and ingenuity, composers cemented the violin concerto as a key genre of classical music and gifted our ears with such timeless masterpieces as Vivaldi s Four Seasons. In Experiencing the Violin Concerto, Franco Sciannameo draws on his years of scholarship and violin performance to trace the genre through Baroque, Classical, and modern periods. Along the way, he explores the social and personal histories of composers, and the fabulous virtuosi who performed concertos, and audiences they conquered worldwide. Inviting readers to consider not only the components of the music but also the power of perception and experience, Sciannameo recreates the atmosphere of a live performance as he paints a narrative history of technique and innovation. Experiencing the Violin Concerto uses descriptions in place of technical jargon to make the world of classical music accessible to amateur music lovers. As part of the Listener s Companion series, the volume gives readers an enhanced experience of key works by investigating the environments in which the works were written and first performed as well as those in which they are enjoyed today."

Cover Art
History of an era : an interpretation of two works for viola - Michael Kugel ; edited by Christine Groessing
Call Number: MT140.K9535h
ISBN: 9782873040017
Publication Date: 2002
Interpreting Shostakovich's Sonata for viola and piano, op. 147 and Bartok's Concerto for viola and orchestra.

Cover Art
Bach's Major Vocal Works : music, drama, liturgy - Markus Rathey
Call Number: ML410.Ba122 R188ba
ISBN: 9780300217209
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
"Every year, Johann Sebastian Bach's major vocal works are performed to mark liturgical milestones in the Christian calendar. Written by a renowned Bach scholar, this concise and accessible book provides an introduction to the music and cultural contexts of the composer's most beloved masterpieces, including the Magnificat, Christmas Oratorio, and St. John Passion. In addition to providing historical information, each chapter highlights significant aspects--such as the theology of love--of a particular piece. This penetrating volume is the first to treat the vocal works as a whole, showing how the compositions were embedded in their original performative context within the liturgy as well as discussing Bach's musical style, from the detailed level of individual movements to the overarching aspects of each work. Published in the approach to Easter when many of these vocal works are performed, this outstanding volume will appeal to casual concertgoers and scholars alike." -- Publisher's description

Cover Art
Layer Analysis : a primer of elementary tonal structures - Gerald Warfield
Call Number: MT6.W231L
ISBN: 0679302972
Publication Date: 1976-01-01

Cover Art
Coherence in New Music : experience, aesthetics, analysis - Mark Hutchinson
Call Number: ML197.H973co
ISBN: 9781472446657
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
What does it mean to talk about musical coherence at the end of a century characterised by fragmentation and discontinuity? How can the diverse influences which stand behind the works of many late twentieth-century composers be reconciled with the singular immediacy of the experiences that they can create? How might an awareness of the distinctive ways in which these experiences are generated and controlled affect the way we listen to, reflect upon and write about this music? Mark Hutchinson outlines a novel concept of coherence within Western art music from the 1980s to the turn of the millennium as a means of understanding the work of a number of contemporary composers, including Thomas Adès, Kaija Saariaho, Tōru Takemitsu and György Kurtág, whose music cannot be fitted easily into a particular compositional school or analytical framework. Coherence is understood as a multi-layered phenomenon experienced, above all, in the act of listening, but reliant upon a variety of other aspects of musical experience, including compositional statements, analysis, and connections of aesthetic, as well as listeners' own, imaginative conceptualisations. Accordingly, the approach taken here is similarly multi-faceted: close analytical readings of a number of specific works are combined with insights drawn from philosophy and aesthetics, music perception, and critical theory, with a particular openness to novel metaphorical presentations of basic musical ideas about form, language and time.

Cover Art
American Luthier : Carleen Hutchins, the art and science of the violin - Quincy Whitney
Call Number: ML424.H97 W615am
ISBN: 9781611685923
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
From the time of Stradivari, the mysterious craft of violinmaking has been a closely guarded, lucrative, and entirely masculine preserve. In the 1950s Carleen Maley Hutchins was a grade school science teacher, amateur trumpet player, and New Jersey housewife. When musical friends asked her to trade a trumpet for a $75 viola, she decided to try making one, thus setting in motion a surprising career. A self-taught genius who went head to head with a closed and ancient guild, Hutchins carved nearly 500 stringed instruments over the course of half a century and collaborated on more than 100 experiments in violin acoustics. In answer to a challenge from a composer, she built the first violin octet, a family of eight violins ranging in size from an eleven-inch treble to a seven-foot contrabass, and in register across the gamut of the piano keyboard. She wrote more than 100 technical papers, including two benchmark Scientific American cover articles, founded an international society devoted to violin acoustics, and became the only American and the only woman to be honored in Cremona, Italy, the birthplace of Stradivari. Hutchins died in 2009 at the age of ninety-eight. The most innovative violinmaker of the modern age, she set out to explore two worlds she knew virtually nothing about: violins and acoustical physics. American Luthier chronicles the life of this unsung woman who altered everything in a world that had changed little in three centuries.

Cover Art
Essays on Guitar History - Matanya Ophee (Editor, Translator); Jan J. de Kloe (Index by)
Call Number: ML1015.G9 Es73 Op3
ISBN: 9780936186009
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
An anthology of articles publiushed in guitar magazines over the last 40 years. Also includes the first complete translation of the guitar memoirs of N.P. Makarov

Cover Art
Music and Capitalism : a history of the present - Timothy D. Taylor
Call Number: ML3790.T218mu
ISBN: 9780226311838
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
iTunes. Spotify. Pandora. With these brief words one can map the landscape of music today, but these aren't musicians, songs, or anything else actually musical--they are products and brands. In this book, Timothy D. Taylor explores just how pervasively capitalism has shaped music over the last few decades. Examining changes in the production, distribution, and consumption of music, he offers an incisive critique of the music industry's shift in focus from creativity to profits, as well as stories of those who are laboring to find and make musical meaning in the shadows of the mainstream cultural industries.             Taylor explores everything from the branding of musicians to the globalization of music to the emergence of digital technologies in music production and consumption. Drawing on interviews with industry insiders, musicians, and indie label workers, he traces both the constricting forces of bottom-line economics and the revolutionary emergence of the affordable home studio, the global internet, and the mp3 that have shaped music in different ways. A sophisticated analysis of how music is made, repurposed, advertised, sold, pirated, and consumed, Music and Capitalism is a must read for anyone who cares about what they are listening to, how, and why. --Provided by publisher

Cover Art
Scandinavian Song : a guide to Swedish, Norwegian, and Danish repertoire and diction - Anna Hersey
Call Number: Ref. MT883.H439sc
ISBN: 9780810884533
Publication Date: 2016-08-11
Scandinavian art songs are a unique expression of the cultures of Sweden, Norway, and Denmark. Although these three countries are distinct from one another, their languages and cultures share many similarities. Common themes found in art and literature include a love of nature, especially of the sea, feelings of longing and melancholy, the contrast between light and dark, the extremes of the northern climate, and lively folk traditions. These shared sensibilities are reflected and expressed in a tangible way through music. Scandinavian art song has faced several challenges over the years in North America (even in the American Midwest, where descendants of Scandinavian immigrants are concentrated). But matters have changed recently with the recent expansion of diction curricula to cover languages other than English, French, German, and Italian. The primary obstacle remains practical resources for the study of art songs and lyric diction of Sweden, Norway, and Denmark. This guide remedies this problem. Scandinavian Song is a practical guide to the art songs of Sweden, Norway, and Denmark. Unlike other sources that give at best a cursory overview of lyric diction in the Scandinavian languages, this guide provides practical information, enabling teachers and students to render transcriptions of Swedish, Norwegian, and Danish texts into the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) an absolute necessity for any study of repertoire. An extensive survey of available music, sample IPA transcriptions and translations, as well as a website link with native speakers reciting selected song texts, make this book an invaluable resource for students and professors in North American college, university, and conservatory voice programs."

Cover Art
English and German Diction for Singers - Amanda Johnston
Call Number: Ref. MT883.J641en 2016
ISBN: 9781442260887
Publication Date: 2016-07-25
Lyric diction is a portal to powerful and meaningful vocal performance because diction enables singers to communicate the vision of both the poet and the composer. The study of diction involves learning to perceive speech patterns in different languages, practicing their precise articulation, recognizing this in speech and singing, and developing an awareness of the refined movements of the articulators and their effects on singing tone. In the second edition of English and German Diction for Singers, Amanda Johnston continues her comparative, modernized approach to lyric diction. This comprehensive resource offers a thorough analysis of the German and English languages and includes extensive oral drills, word lists, tables, charts, musical examples, and even tongue twisters. Unique to this publication is the illustration of the rhythmic timing and release of consonants within the International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions in all musical examples. This book is designed for both undergraduate and graduate courses in German and English lyric diction and is an invaluable resource for classical singers, vocal coaches, and voice teachers alike. Improvements to the second edition include: .An online workbook that includes extensive written exercises suitable for classroom or independent use .Chapter-by-chapter video clips that demonstrate the concepts addressed in the text .Expanded chapters address the schwa, the treatment of monosyllabic incidental words, the use of R, and the correct formation of the elusive upsilon and extended epsilon .Consideration of loan words and stressed vs. unstressed closed German vowels .Integrated practice drills for mastering challenging and unfamiliar phonemes .Enlarged musical examples show the rhythmic timing and release of voiced and voiceless consonants .An expanded appendix on suggested repertoire for diction study .Inclusion of specific diction choices suitable for musical theatre repertoire .Expanded discussion of healthy glottal onsets, including the concept of juncture .Use of the latest resources, namely Deutsche Rechtschreibung (2014) and Cambridge Pronouncing Dictionary, 18th edition (2011)

  


Acquisitions

Profile Image
Janet Winzenburger
Contact Info
Robinson Music Library
216-795-3198
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
My desk is in the Technical Services area as far North of the front door as you can go. When not there I am probably in the Orchestra Library.
What are your musical interests/activities?
I play and teach viola da gamba, am active as a soloist and chamber player of 17th-century music and play vielle, medieval harp, hurdy gurdy and a variety of winds in Medieval and Renaissance groups. I also am Music Director at St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church working with choirs and instruments.
What are your hobbies?
jewelry making, sailing, historical fiction

Cataloging

Profile Image
Anne Lockard
Contact Info
Robinson Music Library
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
My corner office is in the Technical Services section at the north end of the Library.
What are your musical interests/activities?
Baroque music, folk, bluegrass, anything excellent! I am a harpsichordist/pianist and currently play keyboards for Brooklyn Presbyterian Church.
What are your hobbies?
birdwatching, squaredancing, travel

New Books - November 2009

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip