Robinson Music Library

FAQ
Q: Can CIM students and faculty use OhioLINK?
A: Robinson Music Library (RML) is not a member of OhioLINK. Instead, our library provides ILL services to CIM conservatory students and faculty members. OhioLINK is accessible to residents of Cuyahoga County through the Cuyahoga County Public Library.
Q: How long does it take to receive an item via interlibrary loan?
A: Items requested through interlibrary loan usually take a minimum of 1-2 weeks to arrive. If you are in need of items in less than two weeks from the request date, it may be necessary to explore other options such as CleveNet, OhioLINK, and the CIM Bookstore (see Other Resources below).
Q: Does it cost money?
A: No, requests are free to you. Robinson Music Library sends ILL materials at no cost but this is not true of all libraries. Many requests can be obtained for free. However, if a lending library does charge a fee for your request RML will absorb costs up to a total of $25 per year.
Q: What happens if I reach the $25 limit?
A: Requests exceeding the $25 limit can be processed. Patrons will be asked if they are willing to pay the fees before materials are sent.
Other Resources
Includes Cleveland Public, Cleveland-University Heights, and Shaker Heights libraries, among others.
Cuyahoga County Public Libraries
Locations in Berea, Strongsville, Beachwood, South Euclid and many others.
Purchase scores, text books and more right here at CIM.
ILL Contact Information
For questions regarding Interlibrary Loan, contact Nicole Thomas
The Basics
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service used to obtain materials not available at CIM or Case Libraries.
Please note that matrials requested through ILL should support coursework at CIM.
The most common materials requested through Interlibrary Loan are scores, books, and dissertations.
Before you proceed with a request, please remember:
- Request only one item per form.
- No more than three requests can be made at a time.
- The library will absorb lending costs up to $25 per patron, per year. Requests exceeding this limit can be processed but patrons will be contacted before materials are sent.
- Most requests require 1-2 weeks for processing and delivery -- please plan ahead.
Who Can Borrow
- CIM Conservatory students
- CIM Conservatory faculty
- CIM Preparatory faculty
- CIM Staff
Conservatory alumni, preparatory students, Cleveland Orchestra Members and other special borrowers may not request materials through Interlibrary Loan at CIM. However, other area libraries do offer this service to patrons. Please contact the circulation desk for more information at 216-795-3114.
What Can You Borrow
The most common materials requested through Interlibrary Loan are scores and books.
Audio and video recordings are requested far less frequently. These items are also less available at lending libraries as they are sometimes considered non-circulating.
Excellent alternatives for media items not held in our physical colletion include Music Online, Naxos Music Library and the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM).
Dissertations are available in both print and electronic formats. Those written by CIM students can be requested at the Circulation Desk. Also, a small assortment of bound dissertations from other institutions can be found in our collection.
Digital Dissertations (ProQuest), provides access to dissertation abstracts submitted by various instititons in the United States. In addition, PDF files of entire theses and dissertations are available for purchase. VPN client is needed to access this resource.
Borrower Responsibilities
Pick up
- You will be notified via email of request status. Once received, materials can be picked up at the library circulation desk.
- Items not picked up within one week of their repsective due dates will be returned to the lending library.
Costs
- Lending Fees -- Because ILL materials are meant to supplement instruction and/or further research here at CIM, the library absorbs the costs of most Interlibrary Loan requests. Exceptions include requests with lending fees of more than $25 and most international requests. If you submit a request for an ILL item that falls into either category you will be contacted regarding payment options.
- Replacement Fees -- The replacement costs for lost or damanged ILL items will be charged to the borrowing patron.
Timely Return
- Because ILL items come from various libraries around the country, due dates vary widely. In some cases renewals may be available but it is the patron's responsibility to initiate renewal requests. Due dates are communicated via email and written on requested ILL items. Overdue ILL items jeopardize our relationships with lending libraries. Please return ILL items on time.
Finding an OCLC Number
Click the forward and backward arrows to navigate below. Select the full screen option (under "More") for clearest view.
Make Your Request in 3 Easy Steps
1. Check the Case/CIM library catalog to determine if your item is available.
- Books and scores that are a part of the CIM library collection but are currently checked out can be recalled. Contact the library circulation desk for more information on this service.
2. Search WorldCat to determine the item's OCLC or accession number.
- An OCLC number is a unique number assigned to each bibliographic record in the WorldCat database. Take care to select the correct edition of a book or score -- each will have a specific OCLC number. Also check that the record you select lists your preferred instrumentation or arrangement. By identifying the exact item in WorldCat and providing the OCLC number, we can be certain to request the correct item.
- Below are results of a querie for Franz Schubert's "Der Erlkonig." The song is found in a collection.


- The OCLC number can be found in the "Accession number" field, at the bottom on the page.

3. Complete the online form using information found in the WorldCat record.
- When considering the "Material needed by" field, please know that most ILL requests take 1-2 weeks to be processed and received.

Loading...
